4 Florida teams Competing for $2M in Prizes from the U.S. DOE 'Wave Energy Prize'

The U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) wave energy competition is moving toward the next phase with 92 teams. The Wave Energy Prize is a design-build-test competition encouraging the development of better innovations for wave energy conversion (WEC) devices that will double energy capture. When this is achieved, costs will be reduced making wave energy more competitive with established energy technologies.

The 91 American teams and one team from Denmark official will now begin working to double the energy captured from ocean waves and win a prize purse totaling more than $2 million.

Florida teams competing to win the prize:

  • ESI – Perpetuwave (Doral, Fla.)
  • Etymol Ocean Power (Winter Springs, Fla.)
  • Fetzer Wave (Palm Harbor, Fla.)
  • Wizards of Energy (Dania Beach, Fla.)

Read more…