Directory Details

[Return to Previous Listing]
Ken Wagener

Ken Wagener

George B. Butler Professor of Polymer Chemistry, Chemistry, University of Florida

Phone: (352) 392-4666

Fax: (352) 392-9741

The Wagener Research Group
Department of Chemistry
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL 32611-7200



Ph.D. Organic and Polymer Chemistry, University of Florida, 1973

Research Interests:

Acyclic diene metathesis (ADMET) polymerization; synthesis of model polymers for polyolefins, preparation of latent elastomer structures. 220 publications and patents to date, also about 250 presentations by his group in the USA and around the world. ADMET reaction has become an integral part of polymer chemistry. While working for Akzo Nobel, American Enka Research, directed activities of 25 people engaged in bulk polymerizations and structure/property determinations - research in membranes, nylon, polyester & cellulose fibers, biopolymers, polymerization catalysis, conductive polymers, polymer decomposition, and NMMO solvents for cellulose. Some of the Awards & Professional Recognition 2007 Alexander von Humboldt Senior Research Award 2004 & 2006 Visiting Scholar, Kyoto University Graduate School of Engineering 2003 American Chemical Society Florida Award 2003 Inducted as Fellow in the ACS Polymer Materials Science & Engineering (PMSE) Division 2003 Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) Fellowship 2000 Teacher/Scholar of the Year, University of Florida 2000 Inducted into Clemson University Academy of Engineers and Scientists 1997 American Chemical Society, Piedmont Section Stone Will Award 1996 American Chemical Society Southern Chemist Award 1996 Michigan Molecular Institute Turner Alfrey Professorship 1993 University of Florida Teaching Improvement Award 1986 Department of Chemistry Teacher of the Year 1986-2003 Four UF Research Recognition Awards (top 100 fundraisers on campus) Awards While In Industry: 1982 Akzo Nobel (American Enka Company) President’s Award 1979 Akzo Nobel (American Enka Company) Incentive Stock Award