Directory Details

[Return to Previous Listing]
S.A. Sherif

S.A. Sherif

Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering,, University of Florida

Phone: (352) 392-7821

Fax: (352) 392-1071

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering 232 MAE-B, P.O. Box 116300, Gainesville, Florida 32611-6300



Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, 1985

Research Interests:

Dr. Sherif has been on the faculty of the University of Florida since 1991. He has also served on the faculties of the University of Miami (1987-1991) and Northern Illinois University (1984-1987). His recent research interests are in the areas of Heat and Mass Transfer, Thermodynamic and Thermoeconomic Design Optimization of Advanced Energy Systems, Spacecraft Thermal Management, Distributed Power Generation, Renewable Energy, Refrigeration, and Cryogenics. Dr. Sherif is a Fellow of ASME and ASHRAE, an Associate Fellow of AIAA, and a Member of Commission B-1 on Thermodynamics and Transfer Processes of the International Institute of Refrigeration. He is a past chair for the ASME Advanced Energy Systems Division, the Coordinating Group for Fluid Measurements of the ASME Fluids Engineering Division, the Steering Committee of the International Energy Conversion Engineering Conference (2001-2003), and ASHRAE’s Standards Project Committee 41.6 on Measurement of Moist Air Properties (1989-1994). He is the current chair of the K-19 Committee on Environmental Heat Transfer of the ASME Heat Transfer Division (2003-2007) and the Head of the Refrigeration Section of ASHRAE (2004-2008). He is also a member of the ASME’s Energy Resources Board (2001-2003) and is the Board’s representative to the ASME’s International Mechanical Engineering Congress Committee (IMECE-2003/2006). He is also a member of the Frank Kreith Energy Award Selection Committee (2005-07), the K-6 on Heat Transfer in Energy Systems, and AIAA’s Terrestrial Energy Systems Technical Committee.

Dr. Sherif is an Associate Technical Editor of three journals; the ASME Journal of Heat Transfer (2007-2010), International Journal of Hydrogen Energy (2005-present), and Solar Energy (2004-present). He is a Book Review Editor of ASME’s Applied Mechanics Reviews (2001-pesent) and is a member of the Editorial Advisory Board of the International Journal of Exergy (2005-2008). He is also a member of the Advisory Board of Directors of the International Association for Hydrogen Energy. He is the recipient of three “Certificates of Recognition for Research Contributions” from NASA, a Premium of Academic Excellence (PACE) award from Iowa State University, four research awards from the University of Miami, and a “Graduate Research and Artistry Award” from Northern Illinois University. He has received certificates of appreciation from the ASME’s Board of Governors, the Heat Transfer Division, the Solar Energy Division, the Advanced Energy Systems Division, the Fluids Engineering Division, and the ASME’s International Mechanical Engineering Congress Committee along with ASHRAE and AIAA. He is also the recipient of the E.K. Campbell Award of Merit from ASHRAE in 1997 for “outstanding service and achievement in teaching” and a “TIP” teaching excellence award from the University of Florida in 1998. In 2000 and 2004, he was selected by the University of Florida’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences as an Anderson/CLAS Scholar Faculty Honoree. In December 2002, Dr. Sherif was selected to be the sole recipient of the 2001 Kuwait Prize in Applied Sciences. The Kuwait Prize is the highest award bestowed on any researcher by the State of Kuwait. He was also the 2003 recipient of the ASHRAE Distinguished Service Award. In 2005 AIAA selected one of Dr. Sherif’s papers for a Best Paper Award. He has more than 350 publications and two US patents in thermal/fluid and energy sciences